Reader checklist: A Zero Trading Fee Can Still Hide a Spread
Kraken's fee schedule shows how a waived trading commission can still leave a spread and payment costs on instant buy, sell, or convert orders.
What this checklist adds
This midday update restates the verification steps for operators checking primary sources before repeating a claim. It is a separate checklist from earlier posts on this site.
On Kraken, a quoted zero trading fee does not mean the price you get is free of cost. The fee schedule states that buy, sell, and convert orders include a spread, described as the difference between the market rate and the rate you receive. So the commission line can read zero while the spread still sits inside your execution price.
What the fee schedule actually says
Kraken lists several separate charges. Trading fees are 1% on instant and recurring transactions and 1.5% on custom orders. Payment fees may also apply depending on how you fund the order, such as credit or debit card, Apple Pay/Google Pay, ACH transfer, or your Kraken account balance.
The spread is treated as its own item. Kraken says the price you see when using its Instant Buy/Sell services, including custom and recurring purchases, already includes a spread. It describes this spread as ensuring price certainty at the moment the order executes and says Kraken may retain any excess spread from a transaction.
The commission and the spread are different lines
The clearest way to read the schedule is to separate three costs: the trading commission, the payment processing charge, and the spread embedded in the quoted price. A promotion that removes the first does not automatically remove the other two.
Kraken's own note on its zero-fee benefit makes this explicit. It says that although trading fees are waived, spreads and card processing fees still apply. That sentence is the key to the reader's question: a quoted zero trading fee can coexist with a real all-in cost.
Who gets the zero trading fee, and where
The benefit belongs to Kraken+ members. According to the schedule, they get zero trading fees on up to $10,000, or local currency equivalent, of monthly trading volume for major currencies: USD, GBP, CAD, AUD, EUR, and CHF.
The scope is narrow. The benefit applies only to trades made through the Buy, Sell, or Convert features in the Kraken app or on the web. It excludes Spot, Futures, API, and OTC trades on Kraken Pro. Outside the app-and-web Buy/Sell/Convert path, the zero-fee line does not describe the trade.
The schedule also says the 1% and 1.5% trading commissions do not apply to Kraken+ members at volumes up to the stated monthly limit. Small-balance conversions are a separate case: a fixed 3% fee applies to amounts below the minimum order size when using the small balance conversion feature.
A worked example, clearly hypothetical
The following is a Hypothetical illustration, not a quoted price or a prediction of what any order will cost. Assume a Kraken+ member places a $1,000 instant buy of Bitcoin through the app, within the monthly zero-fee allowance, so the 1% trading commission is waived.
| Cost line | Status in this Hypothetical |
|---|---|
| Trading commission | $0, because the Kraken+ allowance applies |
| Spread | Not zero by definition; embedded in the quoted price |
| Card processing fee | Applies if a card is used, per the schedule |
| All-in result | Some amount above the market rate you would see elsewhere |
The number that matters is not the commission line but the gap between the market rate and the rate you receive. A Hypothetical $1,000 buy executed at a rate 0.5% above the market would effectively cost about $5 even with a $0 commission, before any card charge. That 0.5% is an assumption chosen to show the arithmetic; the schedule does not state a spread percentage.
Why the spread varies
Kraken says the spread can differ even for similar transactions and varies with factors including market volatility, asset type, order size and type, Kraken VIP status, and general account activity. It also says the price you see includes the spread to give price certainty at execution.
That combination matters for comparison shopping. Two orders of the same dollar amount, placed minutes apart or through different funding methods, can carry different effective costs without either showing a positive commission line.
What the source does not say
The schedule does not state a numerical spread percentage for any asset, order size, or account tier, so readers cannot calculate an all-in cost from the page alone. It does not list specific card processing rates, Apple Pay or Google Pay charges, ACH charges, or account-balance funding charges.
It does not say how much excess spread Kraken may retain in practice, how the spread is set relative to a named reference market, or how Kraken+ membership is priced or qualified beyond the zero-fee allowance. It does not give the minimum order size for the small-balance conversion feature and does not list which countries currently have the Kraken app; it only points to a separate requirements section. Publication dates and effective dates for the fee schedule are also not given.
A short checklist before you order
- Check whether the order is an instant, recurring, or custom order, because the commission differs at 1% versus 1.5%.
- Confirm whether a Kraken+ allowance applies and whether the order stays within the $10,000 monthly volume for the listed currencies.
- Check that the trade goes through the app or web Buy, Sell, or Convert path, not Kraken Pro Spot, Futures, API, or OTC.
- Identify your payment method and expect an additional charge if a card is involved.
- Compare the quoted rate with a reference market rate, since the spread is the cost that survives a zero commission.
The takeaway is structural, not promotional: read the commission, the payment fee, and the spread as three separate inputs. Kraken's schedule supports that reading directly, and its own note that spreads remain after the fee waiver is the plainest confirmation available on the page.
Sources
Informational only. Not financial, legal or investment advice. Check the primary sources listed above before you act on anything here.