No FEAR Act and Cummings Act: What the CFPB Is Required to Post
The No FEAR Act and Cummings Act are federal workplace-accountability laws, not crypto rules; here is what the CFPB must publicly post and what the page does not cover.
The No FEAR Act and the Cummings Act are federal employment-accountability laws. The No FEAR Act is intended to increase the accountability of federal agencies for acts of discrimination or retaliation against employees, former employees, and applicants. The Cummings Federal Employee Antidiscrimination Act of 2020 (Cummings Act) became law on January 1, 2021. Neither law sets consumer fees, trading terms, or wallet conditions.
The immediate answer for a reader deciding on a crypto product: this material does not change any fee, account condition, or holding option you would compare. It describes public notice duties that apply to a federal agency as an employer. Treat it as context on how a regulator reports on itself, not as consumer pricing information.
What the No FEAR Act requires
In 2002, Congress enacted the “Notification and Federal Employee Antidiscrimination and Retaliation Act of 2002,” which is known as the No FEAR Act. The statute's stated aim is accountability: agencies answer for findings of discrimination or retaliation involving their workers and applicants.
The CFPB page describes concrete publication duties that follow from this. It requires the CFPB to post a notice of rights and protections available under Federal antidiscrimination and whistleblower protection laws and to post certain No FEAR Act data (this data was most recently updated on July 24, 2026). The CFPB also releases an annual No FEAR Act report.
Those duties are about transparency toward the public, not about the agency's supervision of financial products. A reader scanning for cost changes will not find them here.
What the Cummings Act adds
The Cummings Act amends the No FEAR Act. It requires federal agencies to publicly provide notice, in an accessible format linked from its public-facing website, of any final decision in which there has been a finding of discrimination (including retaliation) against the agency.
The page states that required notices under the Cummings Act will be posted directly below. That is an announcement of where notices belong, not a statement that a particular finding exists or has been resolved.
The practical difference between the two laws is scope. The No FEAR Act frames the general accountability duty and the recurring reports. The Cummings Act adds a case-level posting requirement tied to final decisions with a discrimination finding.
The data categories the page names
The page identifies the kinds of information published under these duties. Grouping them helps show what a reader can and cannot learn:
| Category | What the source says | What it does not tell you |
|---|---|---|
| Final actions with a discrimination finding | Final actions issued by the CFPB involving a finding of discrimination | Any product term, fee, or consumer outcome |
| Final actions without an EEOC hearing | Final actions issued without an Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) hearing | Whether any specific case applies to you |
| Timing | Average time taken to complete investigations and final action | Individual case timelines or costs |
The page also points readers to more detail through its equal employment opportunity page and a contact route. That is the path the source itself offers for follow-up.
Why this matters to a crypto-product reader
Readers comparing exchanges, wallets, and holding methods often check who regulates a firm and what that regulator publishes. The CFPB appears in those checks because it oversees consumer financial products. Seeing this page can create a false link between the agency's employment reporting and its consumer-facing rules.
The distinction is straightforward. Employment discrimination notices describe how the agency handles findings about itself as an employer. Consumer fee schedules, deposit terms, and account restrictions come from separate rulemaking and disclosure processes. This page supplies none of the latter.
On this site's usual questions, that means one honest conclusion: the No FEAR Act and Cummings Act do not supply a comparable fee or term you can put in a product table.
What the source does not say
- It does not state that any specific Cummings Act notice has been posted, only that required notices will be posted directly below.
- It does not give counts, case names, or amounts tied to any finding.
- It does not connect the reporting duties to crypto assets, exchanges, wallets, or custody.
- It does not describe any consumer fee, account condition, or holding option.
- It does not state the publication date of the page itself; the only date precision given is the data update on July 24, 2026.
- It does not say whether the annual No FEAR Act report for any given year is currently available at that page.
How to read the update date
The page says certain No FEAR Act data was most recently updated on July 24, 2026. That date describes the data posting, not a change in law or a new consumer rule. A Hypothetical reader comparing products on a later date should not treat that update as a signal about product costs.
If a comparison table needs a sourcing note, the accurate one is that the page records a data update on that date and describes the notice and report duties above. Anything beyond that would be inference.
Bottom line
The No FEAR Act and Cummings Act describe how a federal agency accounts for discrimination and retaliation findings about itself. The CFPB page sets out notice duties, a public data posting, and an annual report, and it says Cummings Act notices will appear below. For a reader choosing a crypto product, the useful takeaway is where this material stops: it informs accountability reporting, not the fee and term comparison that drives a product decision.
Sources
Informational only. Not financial, legal or investment advice. Check the primary sources listed above before you act on anything here.